Shy Girl Blogs

NaBloPo … Ohhhhhh.

Posted on: 11/01/2011

So, it’s November again! That fact just sort of smacked me in the face a little while ago, as I sit here among my flannel sheets watching season 1 of 30 Rock on Netflix and eating fun size Snickers I snitched from my sister’s candy bag. (What? She has braces, she can’t eat them! I’m doing it to help her out!) So, in spite of the fact that library school is slowly chewing up my brain and spitting it back out, I am gearing up to wade into NaBloPoMo. It was a struggle last year to come up with something every day … and that’s why it didn’t happen … but it was fun too! So I’m trying it again! Although some days you may get a tirade about cataloging and my crazy, nitpicky professor thereof and unenlightened fools who think librarians’ sole function is to know where all the books are.

*seethe*

That last one can really get me going.

I’m dealing with a little residual Halloween-flavored crank today, anyway. I handed out candy at my church’s Trunk or Treat last night (so fun, I love handing out candy!), but it brought me face-to-face with some Halloween pet peeves – that I didn’t even realize I had. It was a night of real self-discovery.

Number one: teenagers who can still legitimately trick-or-treat (barely) but don’t even bother to put forth 5 minutes’ worth of effort. We had teenagers taller than me in everyday clothes lumbering through the line with limp Walmart bags. Really, guys? Do you feel no shame? Taking candy from adorable 3-year-olds in their princess and fireman costumes? If you’re going to trick-or-treat, at least own that crap and wear a ridiculous costume. We’ll all have more fun.

Number two: grown adults trick-or-treating without even a baby in tow. Really? Sad. … Not to mention illegal.

Number three: parents taking their infants trick-or-treating. First of all, if you do/have done this, no condemnation from me. I can appreciate a baby in a fuzzy skunk costume as much as anyone. And if you also have older kids, obviously you get a pass. All I’m saying is, y’all I saw last night collecting a pillowcase full of candy “for the baby?” You get major side-eye. I know who that candy is really for, okay.

Ahh! Now that’s out of my system, I feel so much better. Blogging really is better than therapy, y’all. And so begins NaBloPoMo! Stay tuned.

2 Responses to "NaBloPo … Ohhhhhh."

Leslie, I so agree with your comments! Two things irked me last night: One the adults who “helped themselves” to the full size bags of Skittles. Really? Just ask and we would have given you a bag! Also the fact that parents took balloons off of the poles that Misti had decorated and gave them to their kids. Seriously? Could you not tell those were for decorations, not for you to take off and give to your kids and then brag about it. Enjoy Jenna’s candy!!!!

Hah. Yes. ALSO “I have a sick kid at home, so I’m trick or treating for her” COME ON.

And I don’t think that baby is eating the Laffy Taffy because THAT BABY HAS NO TEETH.

Leave a Reply

Shy Girl Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Join the fun!

