Shy Girl Blogs

Oh the times, they are a-changin’

Posted on: 09/06/2011

Ahem. Well. It’s been a while. Hi, how are you. I’m a bit rusty.

I’m not even going to start about how I’m totally going to blog more, no really, I mean it this time, because we all know how that one works out for me. Although I’ll be here come hell or high water for NaBloPoMo, I will promise you that. I am spending a lot more time in front of the ol’ laptop these days, for what it’s worth, so you can make of that what you will.

Well, I have officially started grad school! (And it’s eating my brain, as you have probably discovered if you’re my friend on Facebook.) I’ve been in class for about three weeks or so, and my mind, she has been blown. I was really intimidated after my first class met – most people in my program are significantly older than me, and I came away from the class meeting feeling like they were all smarter than me and how could they possibly accept me into this program, I’m not smart enough, I can’t do this! But that feeling didn’t last too long, thankfully. There are only a handful of us who went into the program straight out of undergrad; one of my professors said she thinks it’s because the information science field is a career change later in life for a lot of people. Anyway, it was pretty intimidating, and it’s definitely odd to feel like the “child” of the class!

My classes are all online, which is very cool – and the main reason I’m now in front of the computer so much! We have synchronous classes, which at first I didn’t think I’d like. We all log in to our class space at specified times, and we can hear our professor lecture and see their slides. We have buttons for raising our hand, agreeing and disagreeing, etc., and there’s a space for text chat where we can all discuss things. And although our classes are 2 hours and 40 minutes long, each, they are very rarely boring and I usually come away excited and with a feeling of ahh, these are my people!

(Am I making you want to barf yet?)

So far this semester I have a pretty good routine, although technically I have 3 part-time jobs (if you count school as a job, which, in my house, we do). Here’s the craziest part: I’m teaching a class. If you know me at all you’ve probably heard me vehemently insist that I do not want to be a teacher, no I don’t, don’t even go there. And here I am, making lesson plans and lecturing (sort of. I try to get the students to talk back!). I teach a basic level writing class for international students at the university where I got my bachelor’s. I have students from Brazil and Chile, and they’re very nice and very smart students with very shaky English. It’s a struggle to understand them sometimes but we all manage to get our points across, and we usually have a good laugh about it. And as if that wasn’t enough, I’m also signed up to substitute teach at my high school. (Glutton for punishment, me? No, why do you ask?) I haven’t got a call yet, but I expect they’ll probably start rolling in soon as cold and flu season arrives. I’m hoping sub days will be good opportunies to dig through the mountains of reading I have for my own classes, as long as I don’t get stuck in a room full of absolute heathens. Ha.

One last thing, I wanted to share my glee and delight over a new toy I’ve recently discovered. Have you heard of Pinterest? If you’re looking for a time-suck, ladies and gentlemen, look no further. On Pinterest you make pinboards, and anything you find on the Internet that inspires you in some way, you pin them to the board. I have boards for outfits I like, crafts and holiday decorations I’d like to make, new recipes, my dream kitchen, and stuff I’d like to put in my future theoretical office. Go have a look around, and if you want to join yourself let me know and I’ll send you an invite! (You have to be invited by someone, or you can sign up at the site itself and be put on an invite waiting list.) Go on, it’s fuuuun.

Leave a Reply

Shy Girl Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Join the fun!

