Shy Girl Blogs

Hey hey, birfday

Posted on: 01/14/2011

It’s mah birfday!

[Well, it was when I started writing this post.]

[Yeah, I haven’t posted anything in a long time. Shut up.]

Another year older, wiser, prettier. And that last one is not only my opinion, it’s Boyfriend’s too. So ha.

I haven’t yet reached the point where birthdays are depressing or otherwise bothersome. I still get excited, I want to celebrate and have others celebrate with me. It’s fun having a day all your own. I have this philosophy about birthdays, which I’ve had for a long time … how long exactly, I don’t even remember. I believe that you should spend your birthday (as far as you are able) in a special place, with people you love, doing things you enjoy – wherever, whomever, whatever that may be. It’s kind of like that New Year’s superstition that says something to the effect of whatever you do on New Year’s Day shapes the rest of your year. It’s similar: if you have a good birthday, you’ll have a good year. I’ve done well in practicing that philosophy today. I spent the day at home – and really, where is better than home? Nowhere, that’s where. I’ve never gone on a vacation and not found myself looking forward to being home again. I spent the day with people I love – Sister was enjoying her billionth snow day, so we were home much of the day, and I spent the evening with the family, Boyfriend, and one of my best friends. It was particularly good to see my friend, because it’s been about a month since we last saw each other and that is just entirely too long. We used to be roommates, and it still feels so wrong not seeing each other! We got lots of quality time talking babies (she’s due in May!) and I got to squee over her baby bump (so cute!). And of course, I’m always glad to steal a little time with Boyfriend. I always heard people say long-distance relationships were tough, but I had no idea how tough it really was. There was a lot of silliness and hugs, both things at which we excel. Time always flies like you would not believe when we’re together.

Ahem. /mush

As for the last part of my philosophy, doing things you enjoy – besides spending time with the people I mentioned, I got to bake and decorate my cake! Most people probably think that baking your own birthday cake is either pathetic or depressing, but for me it totally isn’t. I love to cook, but I especially enjoy baking, and I’m always glad to get an opportunity to make something yummy and try out a new skill; in this case, I worked on a method of cake decorating I hadn’t done before. Nothing too elaborate, but cake decorating is something I’d like to get really good at so I’m trying to learn a little bit at a time. Plus I got a new cake pan for Christmas (a giant cupcake!) and all I needed was an excuse to use it.

Cute, right? I know! (Ignore the runny white icing. I goofed on that a little.)

So I did that, plus I chose to have one of my favorite dinners, and I wore an outfit I am particularly fond of. Not a bad way to start off a year, if you ask me. Then, of course, I got some adorable cards and some gifts I like – but the day would have been just as good without the gifts. I don’t know if I’ve always been this way, I can’t remember from when I was younger, but at least for me now I’m not terribly preoccupied with birthday gifts. (Don’t get me wrong, I still like them – so you don’t have to stop gifting me. Wink.) I think it’s partially due to the fact that my birthday comes so close after Christmas – so I just got a bunch of stuff and I haven’t yet gathered a list of new things I’d like. But really, and this is going to sound so cheesy so I apologize in advance, just having people to celebrate with me, people who care about making my day special and letting me know that I’m loved, that’s the best part of birthdays.

Hey, I told you it was going to be cheesy. You can’t say I didn’t warn you.

There’s always the obligatory birthday reflection, too. Does everyone do that? I always find myself thinking back over the year, remembering the highs and lows, trying to determine if I’m different in some way today than I was this time last year. 22 definitely had some highs – I finished my bachelor’s degree (that statement totally feels like a big fat lie, bee tee dubs), I met and fell for Boyfriend, I got my driver’s license. It also had its lows but seriously, nothing thus far can even come close to beating the Great Crohn’s Disease Flare of 2009, so the lows aren’t worth mentioning. I think I’ve grown and matured in the past year; I actually feel like a real live adult occasionally. I’m happier with myself in many ways than I have been for much of my life. As far as 23 is concerned, I’m not at all certain of anything it might bring. I’ve got some prospects and possibilities on the horizon, I’ve got things I’m hoping for and things I’m dreaming of. I am fairly sure that 23 will see graduate school and me striking out on my own a bit. There are so many things I want to do, places I want to go and things I want to see, things I want to experience and accomplish, milestones I want to reach – it seems like the list gets longer every day. I’m scared of that list. But as I say goodbye to another birthday and hello to another year, I think I’m more excited than anything.

Leave a Reply

Shy Girl Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Join the fun!

