Shy Girl Blogs

My brain has melted.

Posted on: 12/15/2010

You guys? You guys. I took my last undergrad final this morning. You guys. OMG.

Ahem. Anyway.

I didn’t plan to go this long without posting anything, but as you may have heard, my brain has melted. And there is just so much stuff to do at this point in the year, you know how it is. I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir here.

Here’s my thing, as far as school is concerned. I’ve never had nothing to do before. If it was during the school year, I had classes to go to or work to do, always some kind of work to do. If it was a break, I knew I had another semester starting soon. This is uncharted territory here. Once I leave work tomorrow, that’s it – I literally have nothing to do. I’ve never been in that place before, and it’s just a tad scary. Especially since I don’t have a job lined up yet, although I have turned in one application already and plan to look for more. And once you start working, you can’t not work. I pay for my phone and it’s not cheap, but you probably know how that is too.

That’s such a first-world problem, isn’t it? I’m afraid I won’t be able to pay my cell phone bill. And my diamond shoes are too tight, wah. But there it is, and it’s an issue. The cell phone, the gas for the car, the toothpaste and shampoo required to retain my status as a human. I’m a little stressy right now.

But it’s Christmas, so really, how sad can a person be? If that person is me then the answer is, not very sad. I love Christmas, y’all. Which I believe I might have mentioned already. I was thinking about it the other day: what about Christmas makes me so warm and fuzzy? And I think I’ve figured it out. It’s the light. Think about how much light is associated with Christmas. Lights on our houses, lights on the trees, lights in the windows, lights in our yards. Even though the days are short and it gets dark before you feel like the day’s even started, it’s never dark during the Christmas season. And really, that’s what it’s all about, isn’t it? Light. Welcoming the light. Spreading the light.

Just sit back and chew on that, now why don’t you. I’m deep.

Leave a Reply

Shy Girl Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Join the fun!

