Shy Girl Blogs

This got lost in my draft folder

Posted on: 11/30/2010

because I’m brilliant. I thought this would be a good one to end NaBloPoMo, which I have enjoyed doing even more than I thought I would – it ended up being a little easier than I expected, too. But just because November is ending, that doesn’t mean the posts are! Now that I’m in the habit of posting more I’m going to try to keep that going. Thanks for reading! 

One day a few weeks ago, Twitter blew up with the hashtag #tweetyour16yearoldself. I could not resist this one, I had to throw something into the mix. It took me awhile to think of something, but here’s what I finally came up with:

@ladybug_155: Enjoy being single right now, high school is easier that way and it won’t last forever. Your time will come. #tweetyour16yearoldself

Aww, boo-hoo-hoo, right? I know. But in all honesty, that is probably what would have brought the most comfort to my 16-year-old self. (And my 17-year-old self, and my 18-year-old self, and my 19-year-old self …) I loved high school, but it was rough watching everyone around me have romantic relationships while I didn’t. I know now that high school really was easier being single, and I also know that probably not everyone was dating, but it certainly felt that way at the time. But this is not the only thing I’d tell my younger self if I could. Here are a few more possibilites I could have considered:

@ladybug_155: That guy is probably gay. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: Suck it up and get the driver’s license, you pansy. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: I wouldn’t make fun of online dating so much if I were you. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: Try out for the solos. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: You’re as skinny as you’ll ever be right now, so stop whining. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: Hug Papa more. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: Don’t be so quick to dismiss blond guys. You may have to eat those words. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: Talking won’t actually kill you. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: Your girls will still be your girls even when you’ve finished college. Good choices. #tweetyour16yearoldself

@ladybug_155: When your digestive system starts going crazy in a couple years, TELL SOMEBODY. (Also, Google “Crohn’s Disease”.) #tweetyour16yearoldself

What would you go back and tell yourself, at any age?

1 Response to "This got lost in my draft folder"

I would go back and tell my 15-year-old self not to sweat it when the first guy I ever had feelings for got married because I still didn’t know what love was.

Leave a Reply

Shy Girl Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Join the fun!

